A rant about operating systems

yuki

2024/02/11

Categories: Blog Archive Tags: OS Linux

A rant about operating systems

by yuki, on 11/2/2024

This rant was made in response to a classmate of mine saying that MacOS has simple interface, while Windows had funny customization. This triggered me, so I obviously had to respond.

I’m about the splain to you with extreme precision. (aka rant incoming!!!11!1)

Funny how you say MacOS has simple interface, and you say that Windows has funny customization. Because Windows has much, much more basic customization compared to MacOS.

What customization do you have on Windows? You change your colours, you change your wallpaper, you customize your taskbar and start menu.

While on MacOS, you can the first 2 of those in addition to changing your terminal colourscheme, changing your window manager, adding a custom top bar instead of the default one, and in general the rounded window corners in MacOS are more aesthetically pleasing.

Funny customization? Do you mean frustrating? Because whenever I use Windows I always bash my head when I can’t change shit on my PLD. I’ve never really used Mac OS, but I have seen online, it looks better.

Anyways, both operating systems suck, it’s just that one is better than the other by a slight margin. The better operating system is not always a good one.

I use Linux on my home laptop (i use arch btw :3) and I can tell you that the customization on there is absolutely insane. My desktop literally looks like this, so I’m pretty sure I know my shit.

A Hyprland Arch rice

>> Home